Tags

, , , , , ,

Micro-scopic fun! ~no microscopes needed~

https://i2.wp.com/2.bp.blogspot.com/-bjfVJ8L6QVo/UD_OmjWn82I/AAAAAAAAABc/FxcdL53z1dM/s320/microscope+meme.jpeg

Seriously no microscopes needed!

I love to look at old photos. It’s like a treasure hunt. It’s like Alice falling into the rabbit hole. Or no, it’s like a treasure hunt.

When I do find old pics, I tend to look into the background. This is because I find the most unexpected things in the background. I am not talking about photobombs! Photos taken at home are my favourites! Around the house my mom would always be buying new throw pillows, or cushions, or RUGS. Can anyone relate?

For me it’s fun to spot the little changes in my surroundings. But also, it can be strangely nostalgic seeing small things that don’t change over time. So, for Picture 3, I am going to creep out a friend’s house, with his permission of course, and find the things that make his house a home. But, also capture some things that are likely to change.

This part of The Challenge is about capturing the microscopic little things we easily forget, when we move on.

Tips and Tricks down below! Check them out for a better idea of what to photograph!

A definition that may be useful:  the macro setting on cameras is in fact for taking close-up pictures. I am aware that macro means BIG/WIDE, but for cameras it is in fact for small close-up photos. I am going to be saying MICRO instead of MACRO just to avoid any confusion.

My Reasoning:

In my 21 years of life, I have moved at least 4 times. Now I’m sure this doesn’t break any records, but to me it feels like a lot. I have lived in at least three different homes, and in two different countries. I tend to feel envious of people who tell me, Hey I’ve lived in my house my entire life.”

Some of the 90's furniture I was talking about.

Dean John and Reno (from left to right)

Like my friend Reno for example, He has lived in the same house since he was born. That gives the place a ton of history. I’ve seen old pictures of his house, BUT, I’ve also seen old videos. Home videos are another way that one can capture the past and the microscopic pictures. I got to see his family home before it had grass, before the extra block of houses were built behind his home, and with hip 90’s furniture. I loved every minute of it! The pictures down below are from his family home as it is today!

For me it all comes down to making roots.

When I was younger I hated moving, I didn’t want it to happen, but I had no choice. At the same time, now that I am a bit older, I don’t regret moving so much. It made me who I am, and trust me before I was pretty stupid. I was also like 7 and 15 so that probably had something to do with it.

When I was thinking about The Challenge and what I would want to remember, I naturally gravitated toward memories of living in my old house in Mississauga. I pretty much remember playing office with my sister. I would be under my desk and it would be my office, and she would be under hers next to mine. Anna and I, age wise, are almost two years apart. When my parents bought our bedroom set back in the day, it was twin-PINK-everything.

We had good times in that room. Unfortunately not very many pictures exist of that space.

I do remember having:
  • Stickers on my desk and bed. I was a sticker fanatic!

Old desk lamp I fished out of the closet.

  • Stuffed animals (Beanie Baby Collection). Mostly presents.

Toto -Bear- Poo!

  • A  fruit-basket portrait, that sat on top of the fireplace. I always hated that thing. Now it’s in the living room of my apartment. BLEH

THE UGLY FRUIT AND BASKET THING

  • I never had posters, but printouts of my favourite stuff. Sailormoon!

Side story: The first time my family bought a colour printer. It was a dot-matrix printer that took a good two minutes to spit out the page. Well I don’t know about your family, but in mine, to use the colour ink was a special privilege. I remember one day when my parents weren’t home I snuck onto the computer and printed a bunch of pictures that I liked, mostly Sailormoon and the Powerpuff Girls. <- I provided links to their theme songs, reminisce with me! 

They were my treasures. I kept them hidden for a couple of weeks and then I pulled them out and blue-tacked them all over my desk. Last deviation I swear.

        

So enough of my childhood misadventures, there is a point to all this somewhere.

And So…

The reason I want to focus on the micro pictures is because they are the types of memories that can be easily forgotten. For me especially, moving around as much as I have, I do tend to miss my old homes. I believe it’s the little things that make a place a home. Like the scratches I discovered in the family room floor, which Reno made when he was a toddler. Or even, the herb garden that their mama planted in the backyard. The mint in their garden was taken from my mom’s old garden! tear! Or the weird dent in the fence that John the youngest brother made when he was messing around with their dad. Photos are memories so why not keep those memories alive?

Here is the end results of my adventure at the Varnava’s home~

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Who knows, taking micro pictures might inspire another photo to be treasured, or my case a new post for The Challenge! Also, I am always open for any ideas of what must be photographed, as different things are important for different people.

I would love to see or hear about any of your micro memories!

And as promised…

Tips and Tricks

1. Look at your camera settings. Most cameras, even the regular point and shoot cameras, have a settings menu that lets you change the mode for close-up photos. (macro)

2. Try and take pictures of the little things that have meaning for you. Like the baseball you broke playing with your friends, but never threw away. Or that spot in the wall where you wrote lightly in pencil Mrs. Christina (fill-in).

3. Take pictures of things that you wouldn’t normally think to capture, like your favourite flower in the garden.

Remember you are trying to capture the essence of your home.

