Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

The Seasons + Transitional Photographs

The hills are alive, with the sound of music ahhhahhahh...

That song always puts me in a good mood. It must be all the majestic oohs, and ahhs.

On to the photo!

So knowing me, of course—I like to think of myself as an old soul—my next choice in  The Challenge would be a nature photo.The hills, and the alive, and the music. Oh no wait, that’s the song again.

Does anyone else share my love for The Sound of Music? 

Nature photos or photos of nature can be powerful and calming all at once. At times I realize that I am taking for granted the natural environment around me. Then my grandma personality comes out and I say, “I remember back in the day, when the splash pad in the park used to work, and it got us kids out there, splashing and playing in the sunshine. Those were the good ol’ days.” Mind you that was maybe 8 years ago.

Going back to nature for picture 2 makes sense to me. It’s a nice way to get reacquainted with my natural environment.

nature 1

A majestic tree!

Also, one of my favorite types of photography is when it transitions through time.

But, wait Christina whatever could that mean?

Well self, (yes I just talked in third person) usually photos are printed in a series. A series can be made over time, and even, in different places. An overarching theme lumps them all together usually, so it works out in the end. Transitional photographs are all about showing the changes that occur over time.

Try it!

    • Find a special spot that you think is photo-worthy. For example, the big oak tree in your back yard.
    • Take a photo of the tree, but at different times of the day, month, or year.
    • Try different angles.

Once you are done, you will have a series of transitional photos. The magic of it all is how different the same oak tree can look. Picture number 1 compared to picture number 458,520 can convey a completely different feeling. Please don’t take 458,520 pictures of the same tree. This world is full of stuff, like the squirrel sitting on the tree?

Landscape+ Transitional time = Photo 2

Yum!

Inspiration struck, during a cozy brainstorming session.The hot cup of Pumpkin Spice latte got the gears going.

Cheers Starbucks.

It has something to do with changing my setting. It leads to bursts of inspiration here and there.

Combining a nature photo with transitional time was decided for picture 2 in this way. Therefore, if you attempt this photo, you should photograph something that inspires you. Not just an old oak tree. Unless there is something majestic about that tree!

Some people may think, oh it’s Mississauga, calm down, there is nothing there. It’s for young families and old people. But, I BEG TO DIFFER. British accent.

This is an opportunity to explore the place we are living in. Part of my personal challenge is to appreciate more of what’s around me. Force myself to disconnect from all the images that are forced on me every day.

I mean how many times have you seen the travel agency billboard? Aqua-blue water, golden sand, and bright sunshine? How easily can I, living in a city, access this tropical paradise? Well hop on a plane, wait a few hours, get off the plane, take a cab/bus/bike and find the nearest water. Simple right? In terms of getting inspired, I don’t have the time or funding necessary for that level of inspiration.

How I Feel

How I Feel

I find nature is really inspiring. There are some great parks in the GTA.  A good friend of mineJoanna Iossifidis, has provided the examples posted down below. A beautiful set of four.

See how each picture was taken during a different season?

Joanna has already taken up this challenge. This group of four can be a little piece of inspiration in any room of your home. Make into your instant pick-me-up.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Just remember inspirational places can be anywhere. It was with Starbucks that this idea was formed. So, maybe a group of four pictures of your favorite coffee shop, can act as your inspiration.

Do you have any ideas of other inspirational photos or places?

If you want to see more of Jo’s beautiful pics, this is her website: http://joannai.wix.com/portfolio

Send her some love!

